Frequently asked questions and answers on how to Pay a Traffic Ticket issued by the Douglas County Sheriff's Office.
- Pay a traffic ticket and citation on-line through the Portal.
- Mail it to the Douglas County Sheriff’s Office, 4000 Justice Way, Castle Rock, CO 80109
- Pay in person at the
Douglas County Sheriff’s Office
4000 Justice Way
Castle Rock, CO 80109
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Douglas County Sheriff’s Office Substation
9250 Zotos Drive, Highlands Ranch, CO 80126
Monday through Friday, 8 a.m – 5 p.m.
After the 20 days, tickets are sent to Douglas County combined courts. You must must contact the courts at 720-437-6200 to set your court date.
Special requirements for drivers 17 years old and younger.
If you’re required to go to court, you must bring a parent or a guardian.
If you’re going to pay the citation by mail, you and the parent or guardian must sign it within 20 days from the date of the accident.
**NOTE: The parent or guardian’s signature must be notarized. If the signatures are not notarized, you’ll be required to go to court.
You are required to pay all of the surcharges on your ticket in addition to the fine.
- VALE (Victim Assistance and Law Enforcement) Surcharge
Pursuant to Douglas County Ordinance 999-002, if you get a county traffic ticket, you will be charged $10 for each violation. At the end of every month, all VALE surcharges are sent to the 18th Judicial District VALE Board. The board dispenses the money by grants to programs that provide services to victims of crime.
- Traumatic Brain Injury Surcharge
Effective January 1, 2004, Colorado requires law enforcement to collect a $22 surcharge for speeding violations, which supplements the Colorado Traumatic Brain Injury Fund.
- Family Friend Surcharge
Effective January 1, 2013, Colorado requires law enforcement to collect a $1 surcharge to supplement the Family Friends Fund.